ITV 1’s “Superstar” is drawing to a close and the Jesus for Andrew Lloyd Webber’s arena tour is going to be chosen by the general public. I can’t help but feel pessimistic as all my favourites including Nathan James and Naill Horan have been voted out.

Assisting Andrew Lloyd Webber in the search was pop icon Jason Donovan, actress  and comedy legend Dawn French and Melanie C (who has been chosen to play Mary Magdeline in the arena tour) Not who I would have chosen. I adore the musical and as it closed in Londons’ West End in 1998 I was FAR too young to see the show. Now it will tour Britain’s largest arenas for the first time EVER!

Nathan James

In terms of the contestants, Nathan James was BY FAR one of my favourites and had one of the best if not the best voice in the competition however, he didn’t do himself any favours through his rather childish behaviour. One thing there was no denying was his exceptional talent. His version of “Sweet Child of Mine” was OUTSTANDING!

It was made very clear last night that it was the end of the road for Nathan when huge sparks flew between Andrew Lloyd Webber and him.  Andrew Lloyd Webber humiliated him and slammed his “Twitter ego” on national television. Though he was impressed by James’ performance, Lloyd Webber criticised the 23-year-old’s ego and incessant tweeting, saying:

‘Nathan, your voice is amazing but I think you need to love the song more than you love yourself. Why do you keep tweeting the things you keep tweeting? I worry what you’re going to be like in rehearsal and why did you tweet a picture of yourself wearing a crown of thorns?’

(Picture below)

I thought it was cruel, the way in which Nathan James was victimized on live national television.

Dawn French quickly stated that he may be better in the role of Judas, although Lloyd Webber has already cast Tim Minchin in the role (again, not who I would have chosen)

He caused quite a stir on Twitter. I have to say Gareth Gates tweeted a very fair point :

    Gareth Gates ‏@Gareth_Gates

Gareth Gates

“Oh I’m so gutted for Nathan… Such an amazing voice. BUT someone needs to tell him how to behave on shows like this. Shame #superstar

Nathan’s  best friend (former pop idol contestant  Zoe Birkett also tweeted a warning to him)

Zoe Birkett   Zoe Birkett ‏@Birko1

@TheNathanJames stop tweeting!!!!! Seriously !! i told u! They watch everything!!xx”

My overall opinion of the competition

I completely disagree with the way that ITV host any talent searches they do, including X-Factor which has gone hugely downhill! What was the need to fly the Superstar contestants abroad to perform? And as for the the breaks… I hate them! Yes it gives you time to run to the toilet but personally I’d rather just get on with the programme ! The show’s format was far too similar to that of the X-Factors for my liking and had it been shown by BBC1 then I feel that it would have been far superior.

Like I said earlier now that my favourites Nathan James and Naill Horan have gone I’m not particularly bothered who wins. The casting of the arena tour is a JOKE anyway. Melanie C as Mary??! Her voice really isn’t up to scratch for the role in my opinion and her dictation is DREADFUL and can Radio 1 DJ Chris Moyles ACTUALLY SING?!

 

WHY ARE THEY NOT SINGING SHOW TUNES?!

Another thing which really annoyed me was the fact that the contestants have barely sung any show tunes during the series. I’m a real theatre geek and love the songs from the musicals but in this department they were strongly lacking. How is getting the guys to sing pop songs going to help them tackle the falsetto rock opera role of Jesus? Well it’s not ! I think the winner will be in for a real shock.

Now that the competition is nearly over I actually don’t care who wins- we have the choice of Roger Wright, David Hunter, Rory Taylor and Ben Forster.

Well there’s only one question left remaining ? – WHO WILL BE YOUR JESUS?

8 thoughts on “ITV Superstar Who will be your Jesus?

  1. “Oh I’m so gutted for Nathan… Such an amazing voice. BUT someone needs to tell him how to behave on shows like this. Shame

    Ya think? So long as someone tells ALW how to behave too. He’s supposed to be the professional for heavens sake. There was NO excuse for his behaviour last night. He even got it wrong about the photo.
    Apology due I think! (not holding my breath though)

  2. Hi Sophie,
    Nathan loves himself so much he will always be a risk for any producer to want to work with him. The making of a disaster before he goes anywhere!

  3. Hi Sophie, I’m almost a year late (and from another country 😉 ) but my answer is this: STEVE BALSAMO!!!! And no one else. (The Arena Tour Cast to me was a joke and nothing but a karaoke/mega sell-out from The Allmighty Lord ALW……..

    1. Hello- ah don’t worry. 🙂
      Steve Balsamo is wonderful (even though I’ve never heard him sing live)
      I did see the 2nd UK arena tour (Oct 2013) and I loved it! Ben Forster was PHENOMENAL in the role of Jesus Christ- he blew me away!
      I didn’t like the way that “ITV Superstar” was done. It certainly didn’t do Ben Forster’s outstanding voice justice!

Leave a Reply

