She walks alone, the town is bare

The streets are deserted, there’s nobody there

With no-one to care for her or show her love

She prays to her god in the heavens above

Sometimes she feels like a motherless child

Her clothes were torn, her bedraggled hair wild

Alone in the world the days dragged by

Her only hope was her god in the sky

He kept her going, he kept her strong

He gave her courage when weeks seemed long

Today the city was busy , with hustling and bustling

The cold wind blew, leaves started rustling

Her poor hands were numb, frozen to the bone

No-one saw her , she stood alone

She tried not to dwell on the emptiness that hurt

She rubbed her cheek which was smudged with dirt

She ate the scraps she could find for the day

At night upon the cold hard ground she lay

Passers-by might state “Who’s that child? where’s her mother?”

But her Mum was in heaven, there was no-one to love her

The motherless child was weary and weak

She sat and stared, too tired to speak

The nights grew bitter, she caught a chill

Alas each day she grew even weaker still

Her 6-year-old heart beat softer, the beat died away

Along with her little life on that lonely day

Her body was discovered, no-one knew her name

Or of her days full of sadness, filled with pain

Her kind soul went to heaven it was as pure as could be

She could now rest with her mother for an eternity

23 thoughts on “Motherless Child (A Poem)

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one today..

  2. Wonderful article! That is the kind of info that should be shared across the net.
    Shame on Google for no longer positioning this publish upper!
    Come on over and talk over with my web site .
    Thanks =)

  3. Awesome blog you have here but I was wanting to know if
    you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics
    discussed in this article? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get responses from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

  4. After exploring a number of the articles on
    your web page, I really appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Please check out my web site as well and let me
    know your opinion.

  5. Hello there I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found you by
    accident, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great job.

  6. I do not leave many remarks, but after reading through
    a ton of responses on Motherless Child (A Poem) | sophiebowns.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be simply me or do a few of the responses
    come across as if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other places, I’d like to keep up with you. Would you post a list of all of your social sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    1. Hello! Yes of course!
      You all of my sites are listed on my blog, but you can follow me on ;
      @Sophie_Bowns or @SE_BownsFiction

      I just write on wordpress but I post my blog posts on twitter & facebook

  7. Great article! That is the kind of info that are supposed to be shared across the net. Disgrace on Google for not positioning this publish upper! Come on over and seek advice from my site . Thank you =)

  8. Hi there I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  9. I was recommended this website by way of my cousin. I am not positive whether or not this publish is written by way of him as no one else recognise such particular about my trouble. You are wonderful! Thank you!

  10. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely useful info specially the last part :
    ) I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular
    info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  11. If you would like to increase your experience simply keep visiting this web page and be updated with the newest information posted
    here.

Leave a Reply

