On 29 April 1968, a shock wave hit the international theatre scene. The musical HAIR opened on Broadway and immediately became the talk of the town. The subject matter was a huge sensation, but the fact that the actors appeared on stage naked in one particular scene unleashed a storm of protest.  But despite the resistance of the conservative public, the most controversial rock musical became a huge hit.

So what is Hair about?

In a nutshell ……Hair tells the story of the “tribe”, a group of politically active, long-haired hippies of the “Age of Aquarius ” living a bohemian life in New York City and fighting against conscription into the Vietnam war .Claude (Gareth Gates)  his good friend Berger (George McGuire) and their roommate Sheila (Amy Diamond) and their friends struggle to balance their young lives, loves and the sexual revolution with their rebellion against the war and their conservative parents and society. Ultimately, Claude must decide whether to resist the draft as his friends have done, or to succumb to the pressures of his parents (and conservative America) to serve in Vietnam, compromising his principles and risking his life.

The Music

The soundtrack sounds amazingly soulful with many famous hits such as “Aquarius”- the incredible opening number, “Let the Sun shine in” and “ain’t got no.” I’m so excited as the show seems very different to anything that I have ever seen before. The cast begin rehearsals in mid-February (I asked Gareth Gates on Twitter!!) he replied “I start mid-Feb can’t wait 🙂 x” The opening night is at the end of March in Germany of all places !

In the summer of 2011 it was announced that there was to be a new touring production of Hair. Gareth Gates then announced on twitter that he was going to be leading the tour as Claude. “Gareth Gates : Yes, me & the leg-end Zoe Birkett are once again joining forces 2 provide entertainment 4 the masses! This time in the form of the musical HAIR!”

Why am I looking forward so much to this production?

Two words…….THE CAST ( I won’t waffle on too much) but they’re probably going to have fun on tour purely due to the ongoing Twitter banter between Gareth Gates and Zoe Birkett….it has been 10 years since Pop Idol and 10 years since they have properly worked together! Both of them have fantastic voices which have matured a great deal. I was pleased to see that Owain Williams has been cast as part of the male tribe (He was in the 25th anniversary tour of Les Mis with Gareth Gates) and has a fantastic voice! The only thing I’m dreading about this production is the tragic ending ! I won’t say anything but I reckon that my Mum and I will cry….lots !

I will probably write a review once I have actually seen the show however, I just wanted to give an overview.

For information about the new 2012 tour visit the new website http://en.hairliveinahoy.com

2 thoughts on “I am so excited for “Hair” the 2012 tour !!

  1. I too am very excited about Hair with Gareth Gates and Zoe Birkett in the cast. I saw the original version in Leeds at Leeds Grand.

Leave a Reply

