Roots


Tomorrow will be better Mother, we’ll see if he is sleeping
Father how are you feeling?  How are you keeping?
You have a troubled expression and you lie very still
Know that we love you dear man, and we always will.

What am I going to do Maira?  I cannot carry on like this
I work every hour God sends and precious times I miss
I am sorry that I scared you, but I must get up and go
My employer won’t understand, I’ll be dismissed I know.

John, there are other options, return to your roots, it’s in your blood
Become a tailor once more; oh darling, I think you should
But for now, don’t you fear, for we will all muster a plan
Would you like a cuddle with Andrew? Please hold your wee man.

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

 

5 thoughts on “Roots

Leave a Reply

