Azure- Chapter 51


Azure novel shell

Tim coughed, thinking of the best way to approach the situation. He eyed Jake who sat alone, sipping a cold bottle of Peronei.
“Ah you have the right idea!” He stated in a light hearted manner.
“The cooler’s there.” Jake muttered, tapping the ice filled box with his foot.
“You know, I think we’ve already got enough footage to make this advert. I don’t think that we even need to do anymore filming. I’ve got about 5 hours worth and we only need enough for a minute and a half, despite Nikolai’s accident I don’t think our time has been wasted at all.”
Jake coughed, not really acknowledging him and taking another sip of beer.
“There seems to have been quite a lot of focus on Nik recently and…”
“Really, I didn’t even notice.” Jake groaned, shaking his head.
“Hmm. Umm, have you and Nik spoken much?”
“Nope, I don’t see why I should even bother with him.
“You know Jake, I had my reservations about Nikolai. At first he showed a few traits that I didn’t like; nothing sinister, but I did thing that he was a little bit self obsessed.”
“Wow, you don’t say!”
“But Jake, something I must admit is the fact that I was so wrong! I’ve learned a lot about Nik on this holiday. He’s been through quite a lot Jake, but he is a good guy. Nikolai is caring and..”
“A true hero. You’re really selling it for him, aren’t you? Did he pay you for this?” Jake muttered.
“Finding her like that, moved him. He carried Cordelia off the beach , without any second thoughts about his ribs.”
“He’s a brave man.”
“I see this isn’t working. Do you have any idea how painful broken ribs are? Nik must have been in agony! He had his accident 2 weeks ago, his ribs have barely had chance to start healing yet.”
“You or I would have done the same.”
Tim shook his head. “You are one messed up individual; you show no remorse at all do you? I think you did push Nik! It’s a God damned shame that he can’t remember, but Jen and I am going to continue to help him to remember. When he does, then you’ll have something to worry about.”
“Pipe down Timothy; what are you going to do, have your friends beat me up?”
“What a stupid thing to suggest! Nah, that’s something you would do. I myself, would quite like to see you stand up in a court of law.”

Tim returned to Jenna, Nikolai and Cordelia.
“Mate, what’s up?” Nik frowned at him. “Was it something Jake said?”
“Hmm.”
“He’s not worth your while Tim, don’t listen to a word he has to say.”
“I wish there was a way that we could help you to get your full memory back, Nik.”
“So do I.”
“I have an idea; the four of us should sit below deck. Now that some more time has passed and your brain isn’t as shaken, perhaps there could be a way to properly jog your memory. We need to make a diagram of events.”
“I’ll get paper and pens!” Jenna cried, scrambling into her bedroom to fetch them from her desk.
“So, you’re suffering from ‘Retrograde Amnesia’ which means that you can’t remember much before you hit your head. You lost some recent memories, I mean, what do you remember about the beginning of the holiday? Um what you were wearing on the first day or what you ate on the plane over here?”
“Literally nothing and I don’t know, what was I wearing?”
“See my point?”
“Yep.”
“I cannot believe that we didn’t do this earlier! Don’t worry, do you remember what they said at the hospital and the leaflets they gave you? After concussion people sometimes get Post-concussion syndrome which explains…..”
“Why I feel tired so much of the time and why I’m more emotional.”
“Ah you have read them.”
“Please don’t sound so surprised.” Niko sighed, as Jenna joined them carrying a large lined note pad and a pencil case.
“What have I missed Gentlemen? Oh, and Cordelia!” 
“Not a lot. I really can’t remember.”
“Well we’re going to help you.”
“Okay.”
“Tim, when was the first time that Jake had a go at Nik?”
“Gosh, um well you had been a little bit snappy Nik, we were all tired and..”
“Sorry.” Nikolai swallowed.
“Do you remember the interview with the journalist?”
Nik shook his head, while Jenna grinned.
“She asked you if you were gay!”
“No way!” Nikolai laughed. “How did I react?”
“You called her stupid and interfering.”
“Oh shit! Did I really?”
“Yup.”
“That was a horrible thing to say; and I have no recollection of it either! How embarrassing!”
“And then um; you slammed your bedroom door in my face.”
“Oh God! Did I hurt you?”
“No, course you didn’t!”
Nikolai placed his hand over Jenna’s wrist, glancing at her with sincerity.
“Oh babe, I’m sorry. I really was a prick!”
“You were just angry, Jake had been really snappy with you and…”
“I took my anger out on you, you didn’t deserve it.” He placed his arms around her and kissed her cheek.
“Don’t worry. You know good things always come out of bad. You really have changed for the better. I think the Nikolai we saw, wasn’t the real you. It- it was more of a protective shell.”
“Perhaps.”
“Why did you feel that you needed it?”
“I suppose that..umm.” Nikolai sighed, pressing his lips together. “In the past, I had a habit of pulling a shutter down on my emotions. This is all coming back to me; but anyway, yeah instead of crying I used to snap.”
“I knew it!”
“I didn’t like telling people things because; one I wasn’t sure if I could trust them because of my own stupid insecurities and two well, I don’t like openly talking about my private life.”
“I’m the same though.”
Nikolai nodded.
“If it had been the other way around and you had treated me in the way that I treated you, then I’m not sure that I’d want to help you. You’re such a selfless woman. Kind and caring.”
“Hmm and now you’re a gentleman and a great friend, Nikolai Capri.”

Nikolai stroked Jenna’s hand. “I’m afraid that I can’t undo stupid things that I’ve said and done in the past. I do promise to try my best to think before I open my big mouth and say something that I’ll regret forever. Life is so precious, we only have one. Once it’s gone; it’s gone.”
She adjusted the collar of his cream shirt and smoothed part of his hair away from his face. Cordelia cried inside and silently shuffled from the seating and tiptoed below deck.
“Is there something wrong Jen?”
“Hmm, you look a little pale.”
“I’m a bit achy that’s all.”
“Where?”
“Most places and I don’t know why.”
“Want a massage?”
“Now that would be fantastic, but I’ll have to give you one in return!”
“Perhaps. But first; step into my boudoir Mr Capri!”
“You know Jen; I might have to take you up on that offer!”

©Sophie Bowns 2011-2014

6 thoughts on “Azure- Chapter 51

  1. Nik’s made a big character change for the better! Poor Cordelia’s hopes are shrinking by the minute – or are they?

Leave a Reply

